The Programme of the festival « Hommage à Nelson Freire »

On the 31th of August, Martha Argerich will reunite with the members of the Jeune Chopin jury and the competition laureates to honour the memory and musical genius of the late Nelson Freire. For two full days, the prizewinners of the 3rd edition of Jeune Chopin competition – along with jury members – will manifest an idea that has been crucial in classical music ventures of both Martha Argerich and Nelson Freire : sharing their opportunities with talented youth.

Martha Argerich, childhood friend of the great Brazilian pianist Nelson Freire – who passed away prematurely in 2021 –  as well as our Institute have decided to dedicate these performances to him, who interpreted with so much finesse and sensitivity. Enormous silence, a mark which his sudden passing had created, remains with us every day. This two-day event will be the first tribute concert in Switzerland commemorating the great pianist.

The event will take place in Lausanne on 31.08 and 01.09.2023 at Paderewski hall, Casino de Montbenon, starting at 7.30pm

Tickets can be purchased at www.monbillet.ch after 11th August or on-site the day of the concert.

The programme :

First part – jury’s performance

W.A. Mozart, Sonate KV381 for 4 hands (M. Argerich & A. Ebi)
F. Schubert, Fantaisie in Fa min (M. Argerich & M. Hirsz)
Solo surprise, Martha Argerich
A. Babadjanian, Elegie (A. Reitenbach)
G. Kancheli, two Miniatures (A. Reitenbach)
C. Debussy, La Fille aux cheveux de lin (A. Reitenbach)
P. Vladiguerov, Ratchenitsa (A. Reitenbach)
M. Ravel : Rapsodie espagnole for 4 hands (O. Cazal & A. Ebi)
S. Rachmaninov, Valse for 6 hands (M. Argerich, A. Ebi & O. Cazal)

2nd part – laureates’ performances:

Adriana Vasilski
F. Chopin : Grande Valse As-dur Op.42, Valse cis-moll Op.64 No.2, Etude Ges-dur Op.10 No.5

Naïma Pfiffer
M. Ravel: Sonatine: I. Moderato

Sofia Teresa Aluisi
F. Chopin : Polonaise in D minor Op.71 No.1

Sara de Santis
M. Ravel: Ondine

Stefan Boucabeille
F. Liszt: 6 Polish Songs Op.74 No.1 « Maiden’s Wish » (Arr. after Chopin’s Op. 74)
A. Scriabine: Etude Op.8 No.12 en ré dièse mineur

First part – jury’s performance:

F. Schubert, Rondo D 951 for 4 hands (M. Argerich & Iddo Bar-Shai)
H. Villa-Lobos, Alma Brasiliera (O. Cazal)
I. Albeniz, Navarra (O. Cazal)
H. Villa-Lobos, O Polichinello (O. Cazal)
S. Rachmaninov, 6 songs Op.11 – 4 hands:
Barcarolle (M. Argerich & Akiko Ebi)
Scherzo (M. Argerich & Akiko Ebi)
Russian theme (M. Argerich & M. Hirsz)
Valse (M. Argerich & M. Hirsz)
Romance (M. Argerich & O. Cazal)
Slava (M. Argerich & O. Cazal)

2nd part – laureates’ performances:

Raffaello Giannini
F. Chopin: Nocturne Op.9 No.2

Murasaki Matsutani
Liszt: Valse-Impromptu S.213

Ilyun Burkev
F. Chopin Nocturne Op.15 No.2

Guillermo Hernandez Barrocal
S. Rachmaninov: “Lilacs” Op.21 No.5 solo transcription
S. Rachmaninov: Serenade Op.3 No.5

Sara de Santis
M. Ravel: Ondine

60.00 CHF / regular ticket for one day
100.00 CHF / regular ticket for whole event
25.00 CHF / reduced ticket for one day (students)
50.00 CHF / reduced ticket for whole event (students)
10.00 CHF / reduced ticket for children not older than 10 years old

The tickets can be purchased on-site the day of the concert.

You can also consult the Website of our Institute here


07.2021 Programme du festival « Jeune Chopin à Cannes »

Chaque concert-récital commence à 20:00 et dure environ une heure.


Inauguration du festival par les autorités cannoises

Stella Almondo


Arielle Beck


Maxim Francesco Zoni


Akiko Ebi – jury


Ekaterina Bonyushkina


Egor Sidorov


Théotime Gillot


Eva Gevorgyan


Maria Belokopytova et Léo Hoang


Magdalena Hirsz – jury et Alexander Reitenbach – jury


Lyda Chen-Argerich (alto) avec Marie Françoise Pallot (violon) & Thierry Trinari (cello)

Alexander Reitenbach – jury avec Magdalena Hirsz – jury


Trio Zarathoustra